Why do I Blog?

God must have favored me for some reason. Through zero effort of my own and for reasons I do not fully understand, I am so so so blessed. I have been loved by a wonderful woman for over 31 years. God gave me two daughters who have the courage, strength, and knowledge among many other adjectives in order to mold me to the man I am today. I pray to the Lord and thank him for sending two incredible men (Shane and Jesse) into my daughters lives, two men I am proud to call sons. Then on October 5th 2011 he chose to bless me with a grandson, Lincoln James Peltier. I feel as though if at this very moment that God chooses to never bless me again for the rest of my days on earth, I have been given way more than I could ever deserve.

Now why did I start this blog?  It was Randy Pausch’s idea.

Randy Pausch was a computer science professor, and he delivered his “Last Lecture”, titled Really Achieving Your Childhood Dreams, at Carnegie Mellon on September 18, 2007. This talk was modeled after an ongoing series of lectures where top academics were asked to think deeply about what matters to them, and then give a hypothetical “final talk,” i.e., “what wisdom would you try to impart to the world if you knew it was your last chance?”

A month before giving the lecture, Pausch had received a prognosis that the pancreatic cancer, with which he had been diagnosed a year earlier, was terminal. The book The Last Lecture fleshes out Pausch’s lecture and discusses everything he wanted his children to know after his pancreatic cancer had taken his life. It includes stories of his childhood, lessons he wants his children to learn, and things he wants his children to know about him. He repeatedly stresses that one should have fun in everything one does, that one should live life to its fullest because one never knows when it might be taken.

On July 25th 2008 Randy lost his fight with cancer.

So here I am, recording stories of my childhood, lessons, and everything else I want Lincoln to know about his family and me, but most importantly I want him to know how much his Puppa loves him.

This is a chapter in the story of my life, and an adventure in itself!

Enjoy your days, Puppa

Leave a Reply

