Today You Found The Bible

Dear Lincoln,

Today started pretty much like every other Sunday, me in the kitchen making Sunday morning breakfast eggs, juice, coffee and then while Momma and Nana puttered around you played and I read my bible.  But then something happened, something I think was pretty amazing, you came over to me and wanted in my lap and started looking at my bible and started a conversation I did not understand whatsoever.  You became very persistent in trying to tell me something and when I asked you if you wanted me to read to you, you laid back against me and settled in for some storytelling.

I had been reading 2 Samuel but decided to read you some psalms and proverbs.  Your interest and attention to what I read you took me by surprise.  We read for quite awhile and I have to admit, I have never enjoyed reading the bible more than I did today.  I hope this continues, today made my heart smile.

One of the proverbs I read you was proverbs 22:6

“Teach your children to choose the right path, and when they are older, they will remain upon it.”

Lincoln, a parents goal, your Momma’s goal, is to train their child to lead a godly life.  If you learn to respect authority, love others, and obey God now while your young, the chances are very good that you will stay on that path when you are older.

I hope today was the start of many more bible storytelling moments for us.  I”ll close this letter today with another  proverb that I think is appropriate for you.

“So give your parents joy! May she who gave you birth be happy.”  proverbs 23:25

I love you little man, Puppa

4 thoughts on “Today You Found The Bible

  1. This really made me smile. Bring up your child in the way he should go!

  2. Suzicue says:

    This is just beautiful. Congratulations on having such a precious grandchild, who is so obviously loved abundantly! :

Leave a Reply

